Rugby: Teams grab Independence 7’s playoff spots

South-West Rugby League teams, Hawster Athletics, Racing RFC and Gosar RFC, have booked a place at the forthcoming Independence 7’s tournament organised by the Nigeria Rugby Football Federation in conjunction with the Friends of Rugby.

The three teams qualified for the playoffs along with Police Machines RFC and league leaders, Cowrie RFC, who were given the automatics tickets because they both played in the 2013 edition’s final.

The competition, which is scheduled for October 10 and 11, will feature 11 teams from the three rugby leagues in the country and five international teams, to battle for the tournament’s trophy at the Onikan stadium, Lagos.

According to the tournament organisers, the three teams qualified after a round robin game, which was played by six teams who were divided into two groups and was decided on August 24, at the Main Bowl of the National Stadium, Lagos.

Meanwhile, Northern clubs will also battle to claim three slots allocated to the region while South-South/South East region and the Federal Capital Territory clubs will play for a slot each for the event.

Technical Director of the NRFF, Olatunji Fasimoye, commended all participating teams for their high level of discipline and expressed satisfaction over the standard and performance of the South-West teams.

“The level of competition witnessed in these playoffs is something worthy of commendation,” Fasimoye said.

“The teams in the South-West League have given a good account of themselves and if they keep this momentum, the trophy could be coming to the zone,” he added.

Source:punch news


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s